Remove a Synced Folder from File Explorer

Summary

Remove a Synced Folder from File Explorer (Windows)

Applies To

Staff & Faculty, and Student Employees

Instructions

Note: You will see synced SharePoint folders in your file explorer under a building icon that says emporia.edu. Never delete a folder directly from file explorer without stopping the sync first. If you delete the folder, it will delete it for everyone! 


Stop the sync

1) Click on the One-Drive cloud icon in the system tray.

Red circle Around the OneDrive button

2) Click on Settings:

Red square around the settings button


3) After clicking "Settings" you can see what SharePoint Drives you have synced to your computer.

REd square around the stop sync button

3a) Upon clicking the "Stop Sync" button items will stop refreshing and updating.

3b) You can now delete the SharePoint Drive from your computer in File Explorer (Caution: If you forget to click "Stop Sync" you will delete files for everyone and not just yourself).

IT Helpdesk- Documents

4) In file explorer, you will see the status of the folder no longer has a cloud, a green checkmark, or a sync icon. As long as the icon is gone, you can safely delete the files from your computer without deleting them from the cloud.

Before stopping the sync:

List of files in Sharepoint folder

After stopping the sync:

File explorer window with no OneDrive icons

4c) I can now select the drive and right-click to delete it from my computer.

Delete button with Red square

Additional Assistance

Need a little more help? Submit a ticket, start a chat in the lower-right corner, or click Contact Us for more options.