Instructions
SharePoint is an online-only system that allows users at ESU to upload files to a cloud storage site where other users at ESU with access can retrieve, modify, download or otherwise collaborate with files in the system.
This article will cover how to add or remove access from those sites and groups.
If you would like to request a new SharePoint Group/Team please complete the following form: "Request New Microsoft Team/SharePoint Group" form.
If you would like to request a new SharePoint Drive please complete the following form: "New SharePoint Drive".
- Navigating SharePoint for the first time
- Managing Permissions for SharePoint Drives
- Managing Permissions for SharePoint Groups
- Managing Permissions for a Team in the same Group
1) On hornet365.com click on your role at the top (Employees, Faculty). Click the SharePoint icon.
2) Once you have reached the SharePoint page click on SharePoint Drive.
3) Scroll down if you do not see your main folder listed. In this example, we will choose the Demo Library. If you have more than one departmental folder, you will see them listed separately inside. Each folder inside with the cloud icon has its own unique permissions, so access will need to be granted for each top-level folder. Open the folder you want to grant permission.
4) You will now see the documents/folders for the SharePoint Drive you selected. To grant access click on the gear (settings) on the upper right-hand side. Then choose Site permissions. (Only folder owners and DACs can grant access)

5) On this section you can see who already has permission or you can remove or add users,
- Site Owners: Never give permission to allow a user to be a site owner. This gives a user a DAC permission level.
- Site Members: This allows users to read and edit.
- Site Visitors: This allows read only access.
- To remove access click on the dropdown menu by the user’s name. Choose Remove.

To grant access click Share site.

6) Type in the name or username of who you want to add. Caution: If there happens to be more than one user with the same name, you will need to search by username to ensure you have chosen the correct one. As you type the user will automatically begin to populate. Choose the user.
- Choose Read or Edit permissions from the drop-down menu. Do not choose Full Control!
- Uncheck the box so no email will be sent or include a message. We recommend unchecking the box and not sending a message.
- Click Add

